Atlantic Canada Eastern Canada Northern Canada Western Canada

Canada Set To Blast Off Two New Astronauts Into Outer Space

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Longueuil, Quebec, – Today, the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) welcomes two new astronauts into an elite group of Canadians. Joshua Kutryk and Jenni Sidey-Gibbons accepted their certification at a packed ceremony at the Johnson Space Center in Houston Texas. This was the first time a Canadian Jeremy Hansen, supervised the NASA graduating class of 2020.

Canada has been adamant there will be Canadians on the next trip to the moon. In 2019, the Canadian Government announced its partnership with Lunar Gateway and NASA to ensure they play an integral part of the mission to the lunar surface.

Under the Liberal Government, there has been a significant emphasis placed on science and innovation lead by The Honourable Minister Navdeep Bains. 

“Canada’s astronauts are our modern-day explorers. Not only do they help develop new space technologies, advance scientific knowledge and promote Canada in space, they inspire all Canadians to look to the stars and dream about what is possible. Jenni and Joshua represent the best of Canada, both with our partners around the world, and our curious young people. I want to warmly congratulate them on completing this rigorous training.” The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

Jenni and Joshua will proudly carry the Canadian flag as part of the new wave of astronauts on missions to the International Space Station, the Moon and one day to Mars.

TDS News
TDS News
News does not and should not dehumanize people for the sake of financial gains, political favours and social media clout.