World News

Norway Signs Brexit Agreement With The UK

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Today, Norway signed an agreement with the UK relating to the UK’s withdrawal from the European Economic Area (EEA) as a result of Brexit.

The agreement safeguards the acquired rights of Norwegian and UK citizens in our two countries. Even though the UK will leave the EU at midnight on Friday 31 January, the relationship between Norway and the UK will not change until the end of the transition period. The transition period will last until 31 December 2020. Brexit will not affect Norway’s relationship with the UK in 2020.

‘Norway and the UK are close allies and partners. Our two countries have a long history of close ties and cooperation. In dealing with Brexit, the Government’s most important tasks are to ensure that the EEA cooperation continues to function well and to maintain close and constructive cooperation with the UK.  Now that Brexit is becoming a reality, it is to our advantage that there is a withdrawal agreement in place. I am confident that the agreement we have signed today will safeguard Norwegian interests and the rights of Norwegian citizens,’ said Prime Minister Erna Solberg.

At midnight on Friday 31 January, the UK will leave the EU. This will happen on the basis of the withdrawal agreement reached by the EU and the UK. Norway, together with Iceland and Liechtenstein, has negotiated a separate agreement with the UK, which covers the parts of the withdrawal agreement between the EU and the UK. Minister of Foreign Affairs Ine Eriksen Søreide signed the agreement on behalf of Norway in London today.

TDS News
TDS News
News does not and should not dehumanize people for the sake of financial gains, political favours and social media clout.