Entertainment Trending

Viola Davis Achieves E.G.O.T Status At 65th Grammy Awards

The 65th Grammy Awards held on Sunday was an extra special event for the multi-talented actress Ms. Viola Davis. The actress won a Grammy for her audiobook of her memoir “Finding Me,” which rounded out her EGOT collection, a distinction considered the holy grail of performance awards.

An EGOT is an acronym for the four major American entertainment awards: an Emmy for television, a Grammy for music, an Oscar for film, and a Tony for theatre. The EGOT is considered the ultimate achievement in entertainment and is a rare distinction achieved by only a few elite individuals.

Ms. Davis’ previous awards include an Emmy for her role in “How to Get Away with Murder,” an Academy Award for her performance in “Fences,” and two Tony Awards for her roles in “King Hedley III” and “Fences.” Her latest win, the Grammy, makes her one of the 18 individuals who have achieved EGOT status.

The list of EGOT winners is a prestigious one, including the likes of Audrey Hepburn, Mel Brooks, James Earl Jones, and Helen Hayes. It is a testament to their versatility, talent, and longevity in the entertainment industry.

Davis’ EGOT win is a remarkable accomplishment and adds to her already impressive list of awards and accolades. She joins an elite group of individuals who have earned recognition across multiple mediums and have made an indelible impact on the entertainment industry.

List of EGOT Winners:

  1. Helen Hayes
  2. Richard Rodgers
  3. Helen Gallagher
  4. Robert Preston
  5. Audrey Hepburn
  6. James Earl Jones
  7. Rita Moreno
  8. Helen Gallagher
  9. Robert Lopez
  10. Mel Brooks
  11. Mike Nichols
  12. Whoopi Goldberg
  13. Scott Rudin
  14. Lin-Manuel Miranda
  15. Robert Lopez
  16. Andrew Lloyd Webber
  17. Sir John Gielgud
  18. Viola Davis.
Naomi Dela Cruz
Naomi Dela Cruz
I am a passionate writer who enjoys the literary world and reading gripping, thought-provoking novels.